FreeRateUpdate mortgage leads: internet leads, live transfers, and an alternative
FreeRateUpdate.com is a consumer rate-comparison site that sells the resulting enquiries to lenders, both as data leads and as live transfers. It is the one internet lead vendor on our comparison list that also ranks for live transfer searches. This page covers what it sells, how lenders pay, what is and is not published, who it suits, and the trade-offs a named source reports, then how Radian Leads transfers differ.
What FreeRateUpdate sells
FreeRateUpdate.com LLC "is a Licensed Mortgage Broker, as required by law," with "a network of participating lenders and brokers that compensate it for advertising and marketing services." It "is not a lender and does not make loans" and holds NMLS #1154338 (https://www.freerateupdate.com/). Consumers request rates on the site; lenders in the network pay for those requests.
Its lender navigation lists Mortgage, Live Transfer, Home Equity, VA, FHA, DSCR, Reverse, Purchase, Refinance and Personal Loan leads, plus a product called AI Match (https://www.freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads). The site states it has "700+" active loan officer accounts and has been "Serving mortgage lenders since 2008" (same page).
Two products are described in any detail:
- Mortgage leads. "They are primarily generated from Google Search." The consumer requests rates on FreeRateUpdate.com, and the lead is "that person's own enquiry, not a purchased record". Leads "are delivered by email or straight into your CRM", with named integrations including Velocify, Salesforce, Bonzo, Shape and Big Purple Dot (https://www.freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads).
- Live transfer leads. "We transfer the consumer to you live on the phone." "The consumer is already on the line when the call reaches you." "You pay per live connection, not for a list of names." "Activate and pause your account, no daily volume commitment" (https://www.freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads).
How lenders pay
Pay as you go from a funded balance. "Lenders and brokers pay for FreeRateUpdate mortgage leads one lead at a time, from a balance they fund in their account." "There is no minimum deposit and no commitment." "No commitment and no minimum order on any product." And on exit: "you can ask for any unused balance back" (https://www.freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads). Live transfers are billed "per live connection" (https://www.freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads).
Prices are not published. HousingWire lists FreeRateUpdate as "custom quotes only" and notes "undisclosed pricing" among its cons (https://www.housingwire.com/articles/buy-mortgage-leads/). leadpops reports "$40–$80" per lead from loan officer reports (https://leadpops.com/blog/best-mortgage-lead-providers-2026).
| Item | What FreeRateUpdate publishes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Price per lead or transfer | Not published; custom quote | freerateupdate.com; HousingWire |
| Minimum deposit | None | freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads |
| Commitment | None; pause any time | freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads |
| Refund of unused balance | On request | freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads |
| Lead source | Primarily Google Search, on its own site | freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads |
| Exclusive or shared | Not stated | both pages |
| Billable duration on a transfer | Not stated | freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads |
| Consent record for transferred consumers | Not described | freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads |
Exclusivity
Not stated on either lender page. leadpops lists FreeRateUpdate's exclusivity as "Mixed, live transfers available" (https://leadpops.com/blog/best-mortgage-lead-providers-2026). A live transfer is by nature delivered to one phone at a time, but the site does not say whether the same consumer's data lead is also sold, or to how many buyers. Ask.
How the leads are generated
The consumer searches Google, lands on FreeRateUpdate.com, and requests rates. That is a real enquiry from a rate shopper, which is the product's strength. The lender page does not describe what consent the transferred consumer gave or whether a recording is available to the lender (https://www.freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads).
Who FreeRateUpdate suits
A lender who wants to test internet leads or live transfers without a deposit or a contract. No minimum, pause any time and a refundable balance are rare terms in this market, and HousingWire lists "high contact rates and no long-term commitments" as the pros (https://www.housingwire.com/articles/buy-mortgage-leads/). It is less suited to a lender who needs a written exclusivity promise, a stated billable threshold on transfers, or a recording of the qualifying call.
Trade-offs lenders report
From a named source, not our measurement. HousingWire's cons: "some reports of low close rates and undisclosed pricing" (https://www.housingwire.com/articles/buy-mortgage-leads/). The same article notes the vendor promotes "an 80% contact rate, flexible participation and no daily minimums", which is the vendor's own claim.
In model terms:
- Rate shoppers compare, on this site and others.
- Transfer terms are unstated. The live transfer page does not define what a "live connection" means in seconds, so ask what you are charged for when the borrower hangs up at 20 seconds.
- The qualifying step is not described. You are told the consumer is on the line, not what they were asked before the transfer.
None of this says the leads are poor. The terms are more flexible than most; the gaps are in what is written down.
How Radian Leads differs
Both companies sell live transfers. The differences are in what is defined.
- Live transfer. A homeowner submits an opted-in form. Our qualification specialist calls back inside the consent window, from the same number under the same company name every time, asks your criteria as open questions, one at a time, with every answer on tape, and transfers to your loan officer with a 15-second handoff in the borrower's own words.
- Exclusive. Every transfer is exclusive to one client, in writing. No resale of the same borrower.
- Replaced on criteria failure. If the front-end recording shows the borrower fell outside your agreed criteria, the transfer is replaced. The recording decides.
- 3-minute billable threshold. A transfer is billable at 3 minutes (180 seconds) or more of loan officer conversation. A 20-second call is not billed.
- Recording and dashboard. Dual-channel recording of every transfer, scored against your criteria, at client.radianleads.com, with replacement requests, credits purchased, used and returned, and reporting. Consent is confirmed on the recording.
Our specialist is not a loan officer and never quotes rates. We are not a lender, not a broker and not affiliated with the VA. First-week figures from one October 2026 cash-out campaign, published in our release: 65% of routed transfers connected, 71% of connected calls met the 3-minute threshold, and 41.7% of billable transfers completed a loan application on the first call. One campaign, not a guarantee.
FAQ
Not published. HousingWire lists custom quotes only; leadpops reports $40 to $80 per lead from loan officer reports. The site states no minimum deposit and no commitment (https://www.freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads).
Yes. "We transfer the consumer to you live on the phone" and "You pay per live connection" (https://www.freerateupdate.com/live-transfer-leads). The billable duration is not stated.
Not stated on the lender pages. leadpops describes exclusivity as "Mixed".
"Primarily generated from Google Search" on FreeRateUpdate.com, where consumers request rates (https://www.freerateupdate.com/mortgage-leads).
Radian Leads, for exclusive transfers with a written 3-minute billable threshold, criteria-based replacement and a recording of every call. Request a quote below.
